Africa Cup of Nations: Veteran Sessegnon in Benin squad

By Lee Drake

Journeyman midfielder, Stephane Sessegnon, could become his nation’s top scorer.

Former PSG midfielder, Stephane Sessegnon, is due to make his third appearance at the Africa Cup of Nations.

The veteran Beninese international will be suspended for his country’s opening game against Ghana due to an accumulation of yellow cards.

Sessegnon currently plies his trade for Turkish Süper Lig club Genclerbirgli and will be 35 when the African Cup of Nations kicks off on 21 June.

The journeyman midfielder has played for a range of different clubs during his career, including spells with Sunderland, West Brom and Montpellier.

This is the third time Sessegnon has made Benin’s squad for the tournament but Middlesbrough’s Rudy Gestede misses out after an injury hit season.

Benin face a difficult challenge at the Cup of Nations after being placed in a group with Cameroon, Ghana and Guinea-Bissau.

Benin squad:

Goalkeepers: Fabien Farnolle (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey), Saturnin Allagbe (Niort, France), Cherif Dine Kakpo (Buffalos)

Defenders: Moise Adilehou (Levadiakos, Greece), David Kiki (Red Star, France), Emmanuel Imorou (Caen, France) , Rodrigue Fassinou (ASPAC), Seidou Baraze (Yzeure, France), Junior Salomon (Plateau United, Nigeria), Olivier Verdon (Sochaux, France), Khaled Adenon (Amiens, France)

Midfielders: Rodrigue Kossi (Club Africain, Tunisia) Jordan Adeoti (Auxerre, France), Mama Seibou (SC Toulon, France), Anaane Tidjani (US Ben Guerdane, Tunisia), Sessi D’Almeida (Yeovil Town, England), Stephane Sessegnon (Genclerbiligi, Turkey)

Forwards: Cèbio Soukou (Hansa Rostock, Germany), Mickael Pote (Adana Demirspor, Turkey), Jodel Dossou (Vaduz, Lichtenstein), Steve Mounie (Huddersfield, England), Desire Segbe Azankpo (Senica, Slovakia), David Djigla (Niort, La France)

Standby players: Abiola Katchon (Sun FC), Chasa-Deen Chaona (Al-Nejmeh, Lebanon), Cédric Hountondji (Levski Sofia, Bulgaria), Jean-Marie Guera (Enymba, Nigeria), Jacques Bessan (MO Bejaia, Algeria), Yannick Aguémon (OH Louvain, Belgium), Marcellin Koupko (CS Hammam-Lif, Tunisia)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *